top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames O'Connell

SWAG or LIMP


Many times I have demonstrated what a swagger looks like… mostly to teens who were laughing. I’m sure they were laughing at me, not with me. It was my ministry to inner city teens that helped me to perfect my swag. They graciously coached and only charged me my dignity. What I learned was: walking with a limp can look like walking with swag.

Have you ever hid your hurts and insecurities inside your pride and boasting? You would be in good company along with the rest of us on planet earth. It’s human nature. We don’t want people seeing our weaknesses. And it doesn’t take much to make that limp swag.

Im reminded of the story of the paralyzed man in Luke 5. His friends carried him to Jesus and lowered him down from the roof. Everyone was expecting a physical miracle. Instead they got a bigger one, a spiritual miracle. Jesus said, “Your sins are forgiven.” Jesus fixed the limp that no one saw. I’m sure no one saw this man’s paralyzation as swag, but that’s the point. We will hide our limp anywhere we can.

If we come to Jesus, He will heal what needs to be healed the most. He can touch our wounds and weaknesses. And He has the power to make the paralyzed walk too. If you trust Jesus, you can be like the paralyzed man who came to Jesus with a hidden limp and walked away with very visible swag!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IS HOPE A FEELING?

Hope is one of the foundational elements of our Christian faith. It's found in favorite verses and designer font frames hanging in kitchens. These verses have warmed and encouraged our hearts like,

Blue Check Verified

In our culture, getting Blue Check Verified on social media is a sign of notoriety. When social media was born anyone could sign up as anyone. This created the problem many problems, one of which was

bottom of page